I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. <u>170</u>

Introduced by:

J. A. Lujan

Relative to commending and congratulating the membership of the Agana Heights, Agat, Astumbo, Dededo, Inarajan, Mangilao/Barrigada, Merizo, Santa Rita, Sinajana, Tamuning, Yigo, and the Yona/Talofofo Senior Centers during Senior Citizen's Month of 2006.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AND I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUAHAN:

WHEREAS, I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guahan recognizes the 1 2 membership of the Agana Heights, Agat, Astumbo, Dededo, Inarajan, 3 Mangilao/Barrigada, Merizo, Santa Rita, Sinajana, Tamuning, Yigo, and the 4 Yona/Talofofo Senior Centers. Some thirty-seven years ago, in August of 1969, the first 5 Senior Center was established here on Guam by SPIMA (Servicio Para I Manamko). 6 Now twelve Senior Centers serve various communities throughout our island.

7 WHEREAS, the Senior Center is in itself just an empty building; it is the 8 Center's members who inspire it with life, purpose, and meaning. Our Seniors have 9 fulfilled a vital role here on Guam, and it is important that we remain faithful to our duty 10 by ensuring that they have a special place to remain active in the Guam community, the 11 Senior Center is that place.

12 **RESOLVED**, that I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guahan acknowledges
13 that the Guam we now know and enjoy was made possible only through the hard work,

1 sacrifice, generosity, and commitment to our island's values made by our venerable 2 seniors. Without our Seniors and their wisdom that we constantly draw upon, Guam 3 would indeed be a lesser place. The Seniors are our foundation; Guam has built upon 4 you. However, your work is not yet done; we need your wisdom and experience to guide 5 our leaders to an even better Guam.

6 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest 7 to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the Agana 8 Heights, Agat, Astumbo, Dededo, Inarajan, Mangilao/Barrigada, Merizo, Santa Rita, 9 Sinajana, Tamuning, Yigo, and the Yona/Talofofo Senior Centers; Director of the 10 Department of Public Health and Social Services; GGARP/SPIMA; and to the Honorable 11 Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

 DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA

 LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE _____ DAY OF _____ 2006.

MARK FORBES Speaker EDWARD J.B. CALVO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature